The Fat Factor Of Dating

Anyone who knows Jon and I would tell you we love going out to eat. A lot. People frequently ask us for restaurant recommendations and we’re ninjas about finding little holes in the wall – but are also willing to spring for a fancy meal out. We love trying new restaurants around Boston (and Cambridge, for that matter), and will even sometimes travel out of the city on a food adventure. I suppose we can remember this is one of the things we bond over once our metabolisms stop working and we gain 500 pounds each.

Reality.

Reality.

The truth is, we’re not alone. One of the most common dates is going out to eat – unless you’re one of those adventurous couples that goes rock climbing on a first date. Even if you go to the movies, chances are you still splurge on $9 popcorn or candy. Or if you want to go mini golfing? You’re TOTALLY getting ice cream after. Who knows, maybe I’m the only fatass who requires a meal during a date.

Many of my friends and I have noted that when you’re in a comfortable relationship, you tend to pack on a bit more weight than usual. I’m not talking about completely letting yourself go, but it’s always much more appealing to cuddle with your sweetie on a rainy day with chinese takeout and wine while watching Seinfeld reruns rather than dragging your ass to the gym.

But here comes the Catch-22, while you may be in a totally comfortable relationship and you both love trying new foods, you still want to look good for one another. After coming home from a particularly filling three-course fondue meal, I immediately regretted wearing the skirt with the tight waistband.

Why’d I wear it in the first place? Because it cinches at my waist in the right way and makes my legs look TOTALLY awesome. But when my super full stomach is causing some bunching, I immediately regret the decision. Even if you’re naturally slim, chances are you feel uncomfortable in something tight after a big meal. Of course, that’s not to say you can show up on a date wearing sweatpants with the idea that you’ll be able to move comfortably afterward.

Dressing for the comfort of eating.

Dressing for the comfort of eating.

So ladies, WHAT do we do? I’m actually loving some of the recent fall trends that 1) work as a great after-dinner belly concealer and 2) are loose-fitting while still being tailored (I’ll explain). You can still dress up for your guy without having to feel like your skirt is going to break in a million different pieces following dessert. Here is a breakdown of the perfect date outfit:

Zara.

Zara.

Do you have a tailored black blazer? If not, immediately open up another window and purchase one. I’ll wait. You may think: Doesn’t structure go against everything you just said about comfort? Not exactly. A structured blazer is your best friend – when tailored properly, it will nip in at ALL of the right places and still give you an awesome figure no matter how bloated you feel. The best part? Leave it unbuttoned and you still look put-together!

Club Monaco.

Club Monaco.

The loose, flirty top is a godsend to women on dates everywhere! Slip one of these babies on and don’t worry about feeling super constricted with each bite. These tops are the ultimate in comfort, and yet the structured blazer still helps you look thin despite the billowy top. For extra sex appeal, pick a semi-sheer one like the one above and wear a lacy bra. I can guarantee no one will be paying attention to your food baby. Or, if you’re a bit more modest, there’s always my personal go-to: the statement necklace.

Sabine.

Sabine.

No, I did not just move this necklace to my online shopping cart. I’ve never been able to say no to a good statement necklace, and a piece like this can really pop when you’re wearing all dark (and slimming) colors. Plus the necklace will draw the attention toward your face, rather than to any of the flaws you may be worried about after a particularly filling meal.

7 for All Mankind.

7 for All Mankind.

For the love of god, have you tried 7 for All Mankind jeans? They’re so stretchy and yet never. stretch. out. A miracle feat in the women’s jeans world. What I love most about my 7’s is I can wake up in the morning and slip them on like a second skin (as this line is actually called). Throughout the day, no matter what I eat, the jeans tighten or loosen with me, never losing their original shape when done. You’ll never feel like your button is about to fly off. The really slim cut and ankle zippers also help you like about 5-10 pounds lighter. Isn’t it weird how skin-tight things can sometime have that effect? Bottom line, I know splurges aren’t reasonable for most people, but in my opinion these are worth every penny.

Nine West.

Nine West.

Wedges give you the slim leg factor WITHOUT making you curse your toes on a date. They were basically made for nights out in Boston since we don’t have to worry about heels getting caught in the cobblestone. Additionally, as I’ve mentioned in the past, having the ankle cut downwards has amazing slimming effects on the legs – check it out.

What’s your go-to for comfortable dating? I’d love to hear your suggestions! This is basically my uniform for a night out with Jon.