In A Sea Of Red, Well, There’s More Red on the Emmys Red Carpet

Don’t ask me about my Emmys ballot because I’m still sore about it. You CAN ask me about the Emmys red carpet. And the telecast itself – it was actually pretty enjoyable – you can ask me about that. But the ballot, please don’t. I pride myself in always having the best ballot of all my friends but unfortunately this was not one of those times. Not by a long shot. Anyway, let’s go right to the fashion. There are a TON of looks to talk about, so let’s not waste time.

Gwen Stefani in Versace.

Gwen Stefani in Versace.

So while Gwen Stefani was my best dressed for yesterday’s VMAs post, she’s unfortunately not this time around. It’s not like the Versace number is bad – I’m fairly confident no one else could wear this EXCEPT Gwen Stefani – but it wasn’t my favorite of the night. I’m pretty sure this is two separate pieces and it’s reminding me of her Sweet Escape phase.

Mindy Kaling in Kenzo.

Mindy Kaling in Kenzo.

I have to say, I saw this dress on Instagram and loved the color. In the red carpet pictures, not so much. So is Instagram lying to me or is this dress just doesn’t photograph with flash well. This dress is just the first of many red dresses we’ll see on the red carpet for this post, and as much as I love Mindy Kaling, this dress is unfortunately one of the weaker ones.

Camilla McConaughey in Zuhair Murad.

Camilla McConaughey in Zuhair Murad.

Look, I know Camilla was just there supporting her handsome man (who’s wearing Dolce and Gabbana, for the record), but I thought this dress was a knock out of the park. It’s hard to look bad when you look like her in general, but I thought this dress was exquisite and an interesting take on the whole cutout/lace/see-through trend.

Zooey Deschanel in Oscar de la Renta.

Zooey Deschanel in Oscar de la Renta.

One of my major complaints whenever Zooey Deschanel is on the red carpet is that she dresses like she’s 90 years old. Here, she’s perfectly age-appropriate and I am a huge fan of this bright pink hue. I’m also a big fan of pairing the metallic accessories with the bright-colored dress. Because it’s such a vibrant hue, I am happy the rest of the dress stayed basic.

Sarah Silverman in Marni.

Sarah Silverman in Marni.

Aside from the fact she was totally busted for bringing pot to the ceremony (I loved Giuliana Rancic’s reaction), this dress should be one of the most talked-about because Silverman looks flawless. I swear, she’s such a pretty woman but she always does herself a disservice on the red carpet. Not here, this green Marni dress was made for her.

Kerry Washington in Prada.

Kerry Washington in Prada.

Word on the street is Prada only wanted to dress one woman. Unsurprisingly, they picked Kerry Washington as that one woman. Had Lupita Nyong’o been a guest (as she’s one of their spokesmodels), maybe Kerry would have some competition. In any case, I love love LOVE this dress. You can tell Washington has so much fun with fashion, and this is just an example in a very long list.

Claire Danes in Givenchy.

Claire Danes in Givenchy.

Much like I feel about Claire Danes personally, this dress is meh. Another red dress on the carpet, I feel like this dress should have been worn by someone who had more curves. Also, it’s a little too reminiscent of Kim Kardashian’s wedding dress for me (the whole lace cutouts at the waist), so I’m even more inclined to hate it.

Kate Mara in J. Mendel.

Kate Mara in J. Mendel.

Huge fan of this dress. Huge. The Grecian-inspired gown would be sweet if it was just white, but the black accents were totally on-point. Also, it allowed Mara to have a little fun with her makeup (read: dark manicure, smokey eyes). She also managed to find a black and white clutch that provided the perfect accent piece.

Allison Williams in Giambattista Valli.

Allison Williams in Giambattista Valli.

The second Girls star to wear Giambattista Valli on the red carpet, I have to give Allison Williams the edge because jeez, just wait until you see Lena Dunham’s take on Valli. By no means is this dress awesome, it’s fine. This shot is actually nice because you don’t see the full-on volume that this dress brought out on either side.

January Jones in Prabal Gurung.

January Jones in Prabal Gurung.

Look, I know January Jones likes to have fun with fashion, but frequently it doesn’t pay off. This is one of those times. It’s either a mullet dress or it’s not. Those shoes are nothing to write home about either so I’m not sure why she wanted to show them off. I’m actually a huge fan of the bangs, though. I think she should definitely keep them.

Michelle Dockery in Rosie Assoulin.

Michelle Dockery in Rosie Assoulin.

Rosie Assoulin is a relative newcomer to the fashion scene, but she’s gained a lot of ground over the past year thanks to her devoted fan, Man Repeller. So when Lady Mary herself shows up wearing one of her designs, I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a lot more of her on red carpets in the coming seasons.

Sarah Paulson in Armani Prive.

Sarah Paulson in Armani Prive.

I’ve already noticed this dress has made a ton of Worst Dressed lists, but I actually don’t hate it. Is it a little too on point with American Horror Story? Maybe. I actually really like the playfulness of the tulle and thought the bodice fit Paulson perfectly. Maybe if the dress was just black, without the red polka dots, more people would get on board.

Hayden Panettiere in Lorena Sarbu.

Hayden Panettiere in Lorena Sarbu.

Love, love, love this cute little baby bump. Also, it was really adorable when an obviously excited Panettiere revealed on the red carpet that she was having a baby girl. I think this dress was perfect for the mom-to-be. She’s still young so it’s important that she doesn’t conform to normal maternity wear. This dress is flawless on her.

Giuliana Rancic in Gustavo Cadile.

Giuliana Rancic in Gustavo Cadile.

Here we have another red dress, but I am loving the structure on Giuliana. Because she has such a petite frame, it’s important that she chooses a gown that has a lot of structure and volume. I’m not loving the hair, though (the color or the style). I feel like she could have done a lot more with it. Also wish she had opted for a statement necklace.

Laverne Cox in Marc Bouwer.

Laverne Cox in Marc Bouwer.

Something I find so interesting: this dress was modeled to look like Angelina Jolie’s Marc Bouwer gown she wore in 2004. I’m not sure how accurate that is – E! News reported it, and they also said POTUS was making an appearance – but if so, Laverne wore it better. She made history this year with her Emmy nomination and I have a feeling she’ll be on the red carpet circuit for years to come.

Sarah Hyland in Christian Siriano.

Sarah Hyland in Christian Siriano.

I am head over heels obsessed with this dress. Sometimes I feel like Sarah Hyland struggles to dress her age, but she definitely does it with these separates. I also have a feeling she’s wearing a sock bun underneath all that hair but can’t be sure. Her makeup also looks amazing. One of my favorite looks of the whole night.

Natasha Lyonne in Opening Ceremony.

Natasha Lyonne in Opening Ceremony.

Natasha Lyonne looks great. Of course, there’s not much to compare it to, given how much they dress her down in Orange is the New Black. This custom dress looks amazing on her, the color is perfect, her hair and makeup are phenomenal. The only thing I’d change are the black pumps. You know my thoughts on navy and black.

Julia Roberts in Elie Saab.

Julia Roberts in Elie Saab.

Say what you will about Julia Roberts, but I love, love, LOVE this dress. I think it’s smart she wore a long-sleeved dress given her age, but the fact that it’s short takes it to the next level. Also, I’m a huge fan of hair and makeup – I feel like it’s the best she has looked in years. Props for the jewelry as well.

Sofia Vergara in Roberto Cavalli.

Sofia Vergara in Roberto Cavalli.

Okay, so today is all “Pedestal-gate,” but let’s take a moment and step back and realize it was all meant in jest and focus on something more important, like this white-hot dress. Obviously, it’s impossible for Sofia to look anything less than stunning given that, well, she’s her…but I think this is one of my favorite looks of hers.

Now it’s time for my Worst and Best Dressed picks….any ideas as to what they are?

Lena Dunham in Giambattista Valli.

Lena Dunham in Giambattista Valli.

It’s so nice to see that character from “The Grudge” is still getting work. In all seriousness, this is the worst I have ever seen Lena Dunham look. Or anyone look for that matter. It’s not even the dress (even though that’s a monstrosity), it’s the overall ensemble. Girlfriend: DYE YOUR HAIR BACK. Or at least try a less-harsh blonde. She seriously looks like the Dutch boy nightmares are made of. This is just all kinds of no-turning back awful, and I’m going to blame her friend Taylor Swift because why the hell not.

Heidi Klum in Zac Posen.

Heidi Klum in Zac Posen.

I feel like a lot people will not agree with this choice, but hear me out. Heidi is a gorgeous, gorgeous woman, but as of late (read: her divorce from Seal), she’s been dressing a little too much like an extra on the Jersey Shore cast. It’s been awful. I’ve blogged about it frequently. This time around, the dress, the hair, the colors, ALL PERFECTION. I was so excited when I saw her on the red carpet. I thought she looked every ounce the supermodel she is, and I was really impressed by the dress (which doesn’t look like typical Zac Posen), it was flawless.

Alright let’s hear it – who was your best and worst dressed?

