Trend Tuesday: I Am 27 Years Old (Going On 57)….

It has become painstakingly clear to me over the years that the further I get away from college, the more alcohol affects me. Scratch that, the older I get, the less time I have for alcohol. My calendar used to be filled with “Wine Wednesdays,” “Thirsty Thursdays” and “weekends.” Now, my calendar is filled with meetings, deadlines and the occasional spin class wedged in there. The point is, I don’t have as much fun as I used to in college, and that’s okay. My friends have matured on basically the same level as I have. We all Gchat from our respective offices the next morning after only a couple of glasses of wine the evening before saying things like “I hate my lifeeeeeee.” “I want to be back in bed.” “I ate a bagel the size of my head.” In fairness, I do the latter even when I’m feeling great.

So we’ve grown up. Our version of going out is now putting on an impressive outfit (read: nothing containing Ugg boots, a jean miniskirt or Northface jacket – unless it’s below zero temps), cocktails at an awesome new bar we’ve heard buzz about and maybe the occasional dancing or concert-going. Dinner is also a popular way to socialize nowadays (with aforementioned cute outfit and cocktails). I can’t remember the last time I ate at the Cheesecake Factory (a “fancy” night in college). Oh, going out also means brunch (Sunday Fundays are the only drink-related event I fit in my calendar anymore). It’s all well and good, we’ve officially become the adults our parents begged us to become after we came home from a particularly sketchy local bar at 3 AM during summer break.

However, there are the occasional nights where we forget all responsibility, meet up with our friends and relive the days of our youth. The problem is, the days of our youth are long gone, and you’re reminded of it the second you wake up the next morning. I have been particularly stressed with school and work lately, and my friend Sarah’s birthday was just the excuse I needed to pull myself away from my laptop for a night and just go out and have fun. It was awesome, meeting up at her apartment for drinks and Cards Against Humanity before heading out to some local bars. I even wore my Trend Tuesday dress!

IMG_3009

Boots: Jeffrey Campbell. Jacket: Victoria’s Secret. Clutch: Steven by Steve Madden. Necklace: J. Crew. Belt: Linea Pelle.

It’s fall and you know what that means: leather jackets for dayyyyysssss. As much as I hate the cooler temperatures, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited for (light) jackets and sweaters. My main beef with fall is that it usually means it’s nice and fall-like for maybe two weeks and then BAM! Endless winter. Thanks a lot, New England.

Sarah and I have been friends since freshmen year of college and seeing as her birthday always fell during the school year, I’m pretty sure we celebrated it consistently all four years (senior year I brought her a three-foot-tall bottle of wine from NYC). Now it’s not just a “hey, we’re going out after class” deal. Birthdays are big events (and fun ones). The major difference? Oh my god the recovery time is 10X longer. Seriously, as of Monday night I was still feeling side effects. Then I remembered that I’m not 21 anymore. Tack a good six years on to that. Nor do I have the lifestyle that I used to. Basically, it’s a recipe for disaster in my schedule-regimented routine. Despite my suffering and cursing of old age (I realize I’m not actually that old), I wouldn’t change it for a second. Nights like that with some of your oldest friends are meant to be enjoyed and then kind of regretted later. You’re allowed a sloth day on a Sunday if you want it. Go out, get dolled up and have the kinds of “I have no responsibilities!” fun that you used to. I needed to remind myself of that, and will continue to work more fun things into my schedule. Sitting on a laptop all day isn’t all it’s cracked up to be (she said, blogging from her laptop).

IMG_2999

As for the dress itself, I continue to love it. I kept the jacket on most of the night because it’s pretty lightweight and the air was chilly. I knew I wanted to make the dress a little less formal (read: slightly baggy, kind of on the long side for me), so I cinched it with my trusty black Linea Pelle belt I’ve had for years. Thanks to the dress’s long sleeves, it’s the perfect frock to wear out during the fall season. Thanks to cinching it with a belt, you can takeaway a few inches on the hemline so you don’t have to feel as covered up. In retrospect, I didn’t need the necklace since the dress’s pattern is busy enough, but I’m getting some sort of weird tic where I have the uncontrollable urge to play with a necklace all the time now.

I wish I could do a collage of all the dresses I wore “out” in college vs. what I wore now, but checking my Timehop every day is stressful enough/punches my self esteem in the face as is, so I’d prefer not to go down that route. Let’s just say, this dress is the perfect thing to grab when you’re having a fun night with your girlfriends in your late 20s: a 9/10 for sure.

Have your ideas of going out with your friends changed over the years? How about your wardrobe? Discuss.

 

